It turns out Zero Dark Thirty has some competition for Best Film of the Year – it’s Amour‘s turn; Michael Haneke’s Palme d’Or-winning French drama has just been awarded best picture of 2012 by the LA Film Critics.

Zero Dark Thirty has already been recognised for best picture (read our article on that here) by New York Film Critics Circle, and the National Board of Review.

According to the LA Times, Amour is a French drama about an aging married couple, and was recognised along with The Master – which comes as a bit of a surprise to some after it was “snubbed by major critics groups” recently.

It’s actually not THAT much of a surprise, considering LAFCA has a bit of a reputation when it comes to going against the grain, and recognizing  movies and performances that don’t necessarily stand out to other critics groups of its kind. LAFCA consists of somewhere in the region of 60 L.A.-based film critics,  which write for the city’s media industry (both print and online).

Here’s the full list of winners and runners up:

Best director: Paul Thomas Anderson, “The Master.”
Runner-up: Kathryn Bigelow, “Zero Dark Thirty”

Best actor: Joaquin Phoenix, “The Master”
Runner-up: Denis Lavant, “Holy Motors”

Best actress (Tie): Jennifer Lawrence, “Silver Linings Playbook” and Emmanuelle Riva, “Amour”

Best supporting actor: Dwight Henry, “Beasts of the Southern Wild”
Runner-up: Christoph Waltz, “Django Unchained”

Best supporting actress: Amy Adams, “The Master”
Runner-up: Anne Hathaway, “The Dark Knight Rises” and “Les Miserables”

Best animation: “Frankenweenie”
Runner-up: “It’s Such a Beautiful Day”

Best documentary: “The Gatekeepers”
Runner-up: “Searching for Sugar Man”

Best foreign film: “Holy Motors”

Runner-up: “Footnote”

Best cinematography: Roger Deakins, “Skyfall”
Runner-up: Mihai Malaimare Jr., “The Master”

Best screenplay: Chris Terrio, “Argo”
Runner-up: David O. Russell, “Silver Linings Playbook”

Best editing: Dylan Tichenor and William Goldenberg, “Zero Dark Thirty”
Runner-up: William Goldenberg, “Argo”

Best music score: Dan Romer and Benh Zeitlin, “Beasts of the Southern Wild”
Runner-up: Jonny Greenwood, “The Master”

Production design: David Crank, Jack Fisk, “The Master”
Runner-up: Adam Stockhausen, “Moonrise Kingdom”