Seasons Greetings


Special Recipients to Be Honored at the 4th Annual HCA Awards

viewsViews 224

Special Recipients to Be Honored at the 4th Annual HCA Awards

by Kit Bowen 16 January, 2021

The Hollywood Critics Association (HCA) has revealed recipients who will receive honorary awards at the 4th Annual HCA Awards Ceremony, taking place in Los Angeles on March 5, 2021. 

Each year, the HCA presents a series of honorary awards highlighting actors, filmmakers, and artisans whose impressive work for the year demands recognition. “Even in this strange and unusual year, there is so much to celebrate in terms of achievements in cinema. 2020 offered the world a wide variety of films with a big focus on inclusivity and underrepresented voices,” notes HCA’s Vice-Chair Ashley Menzel. 

As an organization, the HCA has always made it part of their mission to be inclusive, not only with their membership but also with the talent they embrace each and every year. “When you hear about the lack of representation in the entertainment industry, that is something that we as an organization take very seriously. This organization has always taken great pride in being inclusive since day one. We believe that natural inclusivity has always been and will continue to be reflective in all of our nominees, winners, and honorees,” adds HCA Chairman Scott Menzel.  

Two-time Oscar-nominated cinematographer Dante Spinotti will receive the organization's first-ever “Timeless Award,” which is their take on the Lifetime Achievement Award. Sound of Metal's Paul Raci will be honored with Breakthrough Performance Actor while Cristin Milioti will receive Breakthrough Performance Actress for her role in Neon and Hulu’s existential comedy, Palm Springs.

This year’s Acting Achievement Award will go to Aubrey Plaza for her tour-de-force performance in Momentum Pictures’ Black Bear. Nicole Beharie will receive this year’s Game-Changer Award for her profound performance in Channing Godfrey Peoples’ Miss Juneteenth. Academy Award-winning composers Trent Reznor and Atticus Ross will be honored with the Artisan Achievement Award for their work on Pixar’s Soul and Netflix’s Mank. Both scores by Reznor and Ross are amongst the most memorable scores of 2020. 

Sidney Flanigan, the star of Eliza Hittman’s critically acclaimed Never Rarely Sometimes Always, will be receiving the HCA’s Standout Performance by an Actor or Actress 23 or Under Award. Run star Kiera Allen will be the recipient of the Spotlight Award (formerly known as the Newcomer Award). Jo Ellen Pellman, who stars as Emma Nolan in Ryan Murphy’s film adaptation of The Prom, will receive the Star on the Rise Award. 

In the Heights and Hamilton creator, Lin-Manuel Miranda will be receiving this year’s HCA Inspire Award. Each year, the Inspire Award is given to an individual within the entertainment industry whose work serves as an inspiration to others. Lin-Manuel Miranda has broken down barriers while pursuing his dreams and inspiring millions along the way.  

Writer and director Emerald Fennell will receive the HCA Filmmaker on the Rise Award for her directorial debut, Promising Young Woman. Since the film’s premiere at Sundance in January 2020, Promising Young Woman has become one of the most talked about and lauded films over the past year.

Minari composer Emile Mosseri will receive the Artisan on the Rise Award. Mosseri has made great strides as an artisan in just four years and has composed scores for various television shows and films, including The Last Black Man In San Francisco, Kajillionaire, and Minari.

In the coming weeks, the HCA will be announcing who will be honored with the Trailblazer Award and Filmmaker Achievement Award. On February 2, 2021, the organization will release the full list of nominees for the 4th Annual HCA Awards on HCA’s official Twitter, Facebook, and Instagram accounts beginning at 9 am PT/12 pm ET. The winners will be announced during the virtual ceremony on Friday, March 5, 2021.